Baltimore Orioles – June 30

Because I’ve already blogged about Camden Yards, I’m not going to go overboard with this post. That said, my second Baltimore Orioles game in as many days was great. I really like this ballpark. It’s a ballpark, not a stadium, so it’s got a great feel to it. While it’s huge, it still has a “ballpark-y” feel, which is the type of place I enjoy.

I bought another $10 ticket before the game (Actually, I bought this one at the time of my 11 a.m. tour earlier in the day so that I wouldn’t have to wait in line at the ticket office prior to the gates opening):

Today was J.J. Hardy T-shirt giveaway day, so the lines outside the stadium were longer than usual. That said, I was still fairly close to the start of the line, so I had no problem getting a T-shirt:

I was glad to get into the ballpark today to find some shade. I’d been walking around the inner harbor for the last several hours, and it was extremely hot. Instead of spending time in the outfield during BP, I decided to go get a cold drink and hang out in the shade. On my way to one of the lounges off Eutaw Street, I saw an autograph booth. The three guys signing in about 30 minutes were Ron Hansen, Tippy Martinez and Jimmy Williams:

As much as I love autographs, I wasn’t too familiar with these guys, so I decided to forgo the line. After cooling off with a drink (and eating two cups of ice), I went down to the first base side and watched BP from up in the shade:

I then made a long, slow lap of the stadium and made it all the way back to Boog’s BBQ on Eutaw Street. A day earlier, I had a great BBQ sandwich for dinner, so I was going to repeat the process again. But as soon as I got into line, I saw Boog Powell was signing autographs for fans! He often does, from what I’ve read, so I asked him to sign a ball and I got a photo with him:

(I’ll photograph and blog about the ball at a later date. His autograph is a cool addition to a number of neat souvenirs I’ve picked up during my travels for The Ballpark Guide.)

This time, I got the pork sandwich, and while I preferred yesterday’s turkey, it was still good:

I ate my sandwich up in the stands behind right field, which allowed me to take a photo of the scene down Eutaw Street. I think the following picture gives you a good idea of the area:

After eating, I moved over to the upper deck down the third base line, where I could keep an eye on the out-of-town scoreboard to see how the Jays were doing. Losing to the Pirates? What’s the world coming to?

I spent the game’s late innings in center field, with this view …

… then went behind home plate and got this action photo of Alfredo Simon dealing to David Freese:

Despite a comeback attempt by the O’s, they lost again and I went back to my hotel to enjoy the view once again. Remember how I said the cleaning staff worked until at least 3 a.m. after the previous night’s game? Well, they were (obviously) at it again, and this time I got a photo:

The following morning, I’d head for the D.C. area, but not without a bit of sadness. My two days in Baltimore were even better and I’d expected — a great ballpark, amazing sights and lots to see and do. I’ll definitely be back.

6 comments

  1. Ann Keen

    I heard your interview today on the Blue Rocks broadcast and was interested to read some of your park reviews. Enjoyed your review of Camden Yards…I haven’t been there since it first opened. I am from Wilmington and am a die-hard Phils fan. You really need to get to Citizen Banks Park…a great experience…they have sold out about 230 games in a row, but I’m sure you can find a ticket outside before a game.

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Hi Ann,
    Thanks for listening and for the note! Camden Yards was amazing, and I also really enjoyed my time in Wilmington. I’m looking forward to getting to Citizens Bank Park in Philly. Maybe this summer, actually, provided I can secure some tickets without breaking the bank!
    Thanks again,
    Malcolm

    • Ann Keen

      You might be in luck as the summer continues, Malcolm. I have a feeling the end of the sell out streak may be in sight.

      • Ann Keen

        I go to 2 or 3 a year…I was there last week for work function in one of the fancy boxes…what a treat! My sister is a die-hard fan and goes to 12 to 15 games a year…so if you need any tips, let me know.

Leave a Reply

