Ball of the Day – 3 of 4

Over the last two days, I’ve posted autographed balls from 1970 AL MVP Boog Powell and two-time National League All-Star Justin Upton.

Today, I’m posting the third autographed ball I got on my most recent road trip for The Ballpark Guide, which took me through Pennsylvania, Maryland and eventually to D.C.

This ball comes from someone taken second overall in the 2002 MLB Entry Draft — Justin’s brother, B.J. Upton:

B.J. hasn’t been an All-Star like Justin, but he has hit for the cycle, doing so back in 2009. He’s played his whole career with Tampa Bay and I’ve seen him play live a number of times. I bought this MLB-authenticated ball at Nationals Park, just as I did with the one signed by Justin. Both balls were a good deal, and I thought it’d be neat to have signatures from both guys.

One last ball tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

