Top 10 Ballpark Food I’ve Eaten

As I mentioned yesterday on Twitter, I’ve been working on compiling a list of the top 10 food items I’ve eaten on my travels.

Well, the results are in, and I’ve got a number of tasty items that you must try if you ever have the chance. Before we begin, let’s go over the ground rules:

1. I’m only counting food I’ve eaten at parks I’ve visited. You won’t see any items on this list that I haven’t eaten or sold at parks I haven’t visited.
2. I’m looking at individual food items, rather than a ballpark’s overall selection.

Let’s begin!

10. Pulled pork nachos – Classic Park – Lake County Captains

You might think you’d need to reach for some Tums after getting through these ample nachos, but they’re not heavy in a bad way. The pulled pork was excellent and better than I’d expect to find at a ballpark. The one knock on these was the server forgot to give me cheese.

9. Apple crisp – Parkview Field – Fort Wayne TinCaps

Parkview Field has several apple-themed dishes on its menu, given that Fort Wayne in the place Johnny Appleseed is buried. The apple crisp was the best ballpark dessert I’ve ever eaten. (And the ‘Caps helmet it’s served in is a cool bonus.) Visit my website to read about all the apple treats and other food items at Parkview Field.

8. Clam chowder – Northeast Delta Dental Stadium – New Hampshire Fisher Cats

I ate Northeast Delta Dental Stadium’s clam chowder on a July evening last year, and even though it was a hot day, really enjoyed the soup. I can see it being the perfect ballpark food on a cold April or September night. The clam chowder isn’t the only seafood item on the menu here. Here’s the full list.

7. Philly cheesesteak – Cooley Law School Stadium – Lansing Lugnuts

I wasn’t a huge fan of the processed cheese goop on the Philly cheesesteak in Lansing, but the bun was fresh, the steak was perfect and the onions and peppers were savory.

6. Old Bay pretzel – Prince George’s Stadium – Bowie Baysox

Crab might as well be the official food of Maryland, and if you’re having crab, you need to season it with Old Bay. This cheese-filled jumbo pretzel was rolled in Old Bay. Dangerously perfect.

5. Boog’s BBQ turkey sandwich – Oriole Park at Camden Yards – Baltimore Orioles

I tried turkey and pork sammies at Boog’s BBQ in Baltimore, and the turkey one ranked higher in my books. It’s expensive, but you get an ample amount of meat and can also load up on onions, Old Bay, BBQ sauce and horseradish.

4. Shopsy’s Bill Cosby Triple Decker – Rogers Centre – Toronto Blue Jays

Shopsy’s makes darned good deli sandwiches and the Bill Cosby Triple Decker was outstanding. It was huge, filling and not as greasy as you might expect. The coleslaw and pickle were a nice addition, affirming that I’d eaten healthily by getting a meal with “vegetables.”

3. Quaker Steak & Lube chicken wings – Rogers Centre – Toronto Blue Jays

Quaker Stake & Lube wings are delicious, and surprisingly, the quality doesn’t drop off when served at a stadium. I’ve had several flavors of these wings at Rogers Centre, and they’re all winners in my book.

2. Buffalo chicken macaroni and cheese – Frontier Field – Rochester Red Wings

Mac and cheese? Check. Chicken and hot sauce? Check. Blue cheese dressing? Check. Simply the best mac and cheese I’ve ever had anywhere. If you’re in Rochester, don’t pass up a chance to try any of the gourmet mac and cheeses. On my website, TheBallparkGuide.com, I’ve got a complete rundown of Frontier Field’s delicious foods.

1. Bo Brooks crab cake sandwich – Ripken Stadium – Aberdeen IronBirds

Aberdeen’s menu offers many variations on crab and the crab cake sandwich was killer. On a fresh bun atop lettuce and tomato, and seasoned with plenty of Old Bay, this is the type of sandwich you could eat every inning. Definitely worth the drive if you’re remotely in the area. Visit my website for a complete guide to Ripken Stadium’s food selection.

I’m curious to hear about the amazing food other people have eaten, and where. I’ll be sure to check it out!

As always, follow me on Twitter to read the latest about my website, my blog and my travels.

16 comments

  1. Margie Sears Sherman

    Delta Dental Stadium New England Clam Chowdah……the best all around…..If it ain’t broke…..don’t fix it…:-) ….thank you Tim….:-)

  2. Craig Wieczorkiewicz

    The best food I’ve ever eaten at a minor-league ballpark is the prime rib sandwich at Dow Diamond, home of the Great Lakes Loons. Tasty “homemade” potato chips, available at the same stand, completed the excellent meal.

    A close second: the “ridiculously oversized pork chop sandwich” at Modern Woodmen Park, home of the Quad Cities River Bandits, is both ridiculously oversized and ridiculously tasty – and is available for a very reasonable price considering its good size and great taste.

  3. NeilStein

    Good article and I like how you didn’t just gravitate toward the bizarre foods some ballparks offer just for PR. Not that there’s anything wrong with that…it is Minor League Baseball after all!

  4. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    NeilStein: I’ve been tempted to try some of the more bizarre things, but haven’t had anything too crazy just yet. Maybe this summer!
    Orioles Fan: I didn’t think of that, but now that you mention it, four of the top 10 are part of Toronto’s organization, too. I wouldn’t read into that too much — it’s more just a reflection of where I’ve been. (For example, I was in Maryland a lot last summer.)

  5. mfgoffy

    I will for sure report on the 9 stadiums we will be in May (we see two games at Kauffman, so between three of us, we should cover 9 menu items). We made need those tumms….

  6. Bill

    Too bad you didn’t have the Red Osier’s Prime Rib Sandwich at Frontier Field in Rochester. They’re great and the Rob is HUGE ! I will definitely try the Buffalo Chicken Macarnis and Cheese on my next visit to Frontier Field.

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Bill,
      I finally tried the Red Osier’s prime rib at Frontier Field and it was delicious. I’ll be unveiling my new top 10 in the off-season, so check back to see if it made the final list. I definitely loved it, and thanks for the recommendation.
      Malcolm

  7. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Hi Bill,
    I saw the Red Osier’s prime rib sandwich on the menu and was tempted to try it. Thanks for the recommendation. Next time I’m at Frontier Field, I’ll definitely check it out … although I’ll probably have another mac and cheese, meaning I might need to sit down for a couple innings!
    Thanks for reading,
    Malcolm

  8. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Hi Steven,
    That’s too bad! I saw a lot of people eating the pretzels when I was in Bowie, so I figured it would be popular enough to keep. What else did you try instead? Anything exciting?
    Thanks for reading!
    Malcolm

  9. Taylor

    Hey Malcolm – Great website… went out to see the Stockton Ports last week (High A in the California League) and had a great food item I know would be right up your ally! A FRIED Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich. A peanut butter and jelly sandwich is made, then battered and deep fried… warm peanut butter and jelly are the perfect combo. The game was a lot of fun… loaded up on autographs (Steve Garvey, Craig Lefferts, Bobby Borchering, Miles Head, Max Stassi), got a California League ball during BP and had front row seats for the low low price of 11 each… cant beat it!!! Keep up the great work on your blog… more than happy to help out with Parks around Northern California (Sacramento RiverCats, Modesto Nuts, Stockton Ports, San Jose Giants, etc)

  10. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Taylor,
    Thanks for reading. The fried PB&J sandwich sounds good and I’ll hope to try it when I eventually get out to the California League. Sounds like you had a great experience with the food, autographs and ball! Perfect!
    Thanks for the offer to help. When I’m planning a trip out your way, I’ll try to get in touch and see if you have any tips.
    Malcolm

Leave a Reply

