Topps Pro Debut Cards

I’ve collected baseball cards for a good chunk of my life and while it’s somewhat tempting to share a bunch of my best cards here, I don’t want this to turn into a baseball card blog.

I can, however, show a few cards from the 2011 Topps Pro Debut set that I picked up last summer in the team shop at Ripken Stadium, home of the Short Season A Aberdeen IronBirds. How cool is it that a ballpark’s shop sells Minor League Baseball cards? I’ve seen some MLB parks sell waaaay overpriced cards, but I think it’s awesome that Aberdeen sells cards that are geared to the Minors.

Imagine sitting at a ballpark on a summer night, watching a game, eating some amazing seafood and opening a few packs of cards. It’s all part of the experience in Aberdeen.

In four packs, I pulled two autographed cards, which means I did pretty well.

I got a standard Solo Signatures card of Yankees first rounder Slade Heathcott, who is depicted as a member of the Charleston RiverDogs:

And I got a cut autograph of Washington Nationals second round pick Destin Hood, depicted with the Hagerstown Suns. The cut autograph is from one of his Aflac All-American baseball cards:

In his young career, 21-year-old Hood has played with three teams I’ve seen in action: the Vermont Lake Monsters, Hagerstown Suns and Potomac Nationals. Hood wasn’t in the lineup when I saw Potomac play on July 1, but he was on the cover of the gameday program I picked up.

Does anyone know of any other MiLB parks that sell Minor League cards? (Other than standard teams sets.)

6 comments

  1. Craig Wieczorkiewicz

    Two autographed cards out of four packs? Not bad. I like buying minor-league prospect cards because I think it’s cool whenever any of those players end up being a solid-to-great major-leaguer. I recently found a heck of a deal at the Goodwill store near my house. Goodwill was selling somebody’s old baseball card collection for 10 cents a card. I bought a couple dozen cards, mostly 2009 Donruss Elite “Extra Edition” cards, which feature that year’s top draft picks. Among the cards I bought are those of prospects I saw play in the Midwest League during the past two seasons (Great Lakes Loons P Garrett Gould, Lansing Lugnuts OF Jake Marisnick and Fort Wayne TinCaps OF Everett Williams).

  2. uwfootball1

    I think that those cards are very cool and the Auburn Doubledays sell minor league cards Im also a huge Jays fan and i cant wait to see how Deck Mcguire progress as well as Goose and Marisnick

  3. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Most of the Minor League teams (and Major League, for that matter) sell team sets, but not many sell cards from Topps, Upper Deck, etc. Do you go to many Auburn games? I’m excited to see how the prospects progress, too. I think Marisnick will be in AA and Gose might see some time in the Bigs.
    Thanks for reading.

  4. William Harp

    Hello anyone/everyone.

    I am hoping that you can help me?

    I am looking for information and a baseball card for George Owen III.

    *Side note: looking also for John Welaj and Lou Welaj too (played in the late 1940s/early 50s).

    George played in the minors from 1950-1953. (1950 & 52 California State League (Ventura Braves) – I am looking for this card in this team set (G.O. Card #8), Appalachian League, 1951 Quebec (Canada), Big State League). I know that he was in the 1953 Gulf Coast League playing for Laredo, then Brownsville (not sure if it was mid-season or not?)

    Anyway as I said, I am on the look out for a baseball card, team photo or newsclipping from any of those teams/clubs during that time period. Can you let me know IF there were any made? I am not sure what archival info. you have there and if there was any type of card(s), then I would
    like to purchase about 5 of them BUT OBVIOUSLY will settle for one!

    In the case, that you don’t have any, then perhaps, you might provide a another store or perhaps another private individual, who deals directly with Vintage Minor league cards?

    The reason being, George had his 86th B-day last month and he has been a great friend of the family since 1966.

    I would like to provide him and his family (yes, and myself) with this gift.

    Thanks for any help that you may be able to give.

    Yours Sincerely,

    William Harp

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Hi William,
      I’m afraid I can’t be any help to you with this topic. I’d suggest checking out a vintage card message board or even emailing someone at Beckett magazine, which has comprehensive databases of baseball cards.
      Good luck with your search.
      Malcolm

Leave a Reply

