Jeremy Nowak Update and Trip Planning

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ll probably remember an entry I wrote last month about Baltimore Orioles prospect Jeremy Nowak. For the full story, click here.

Here’s a picture I took of Nowak when I saw him with the Delmarva Shorebirds last summer:

Anyway, as you’ll see in the story, Jeremy said that when I’m able to get to one of his games, he’ll hook me up with some tickets. I haven’t met him yet, but doing so is high on my list of things to do this season. And it gets even better — Jeremy is playing for the High-A Frederick Keys, which is a team I didn’t get to see play last season. As you can see here, my road trip last June/July took me all around Maryland (Aberdeen, Baltimore, Bowie and Salisbury) but just because of the way the schedules lined up, I wasn’t able to see a Keys game.

Right now, I’m looking at a number of road trip options that will get me to Frederick. This trip probably won’t be a two-week one like I took a couple times last season, but I hope to see at least one Keys game and a couple others around it. I’ve already been to all the ballparks closest to Frederick, and my goal is to include a few others that I haven’t visited so I can write guides to them for my website, TheBallparkGuide.com.

I don’t have any dates finalized, but my guess is this trip will include these teams and parks, in no particular order:

– Frederick Keys – Harry Grove Stadium

– Lehigh Valley IronPigs – Coca-Cola Park

– Reading Phillies – FirstEnergy Stadium

– Hagerstown Suns – Municipal Stadium

– Harrisburg Senators – Metro Bank Park

I went to Municipal Stadium and Metro Bank Park last summer, but the other three will all be new territory. Both ballparks had lots of cool features. Metro Bank Park is new:

And Municipal Stadium is old:

But I loved them both. Best of all, I’m looking forward to meeting Jeremy and hopefully writing another cool blog entry about it. I will have my schedule for that trip posted soon. If you plan to be at one of the games, leave me a note in the comments or send me an email and hopefully we’ll get to say hello.

As for Jeremy, he’s playing very well in Frederick. It’s his first stint in High-A, and he’s hitting .308 with 16 hits and five RBIs in 13 games, which is good for second on the team in hits and batting average. He’s hit in the two slot a bunch of times this season, so it’s cool to see the faith the team has in his ability.

As far as other trips, I’m still figuring things out. But don’t worry, I’ll be taking some this spring/summer and will blog about it when I’ve got things narrowed down.

Finally, a huge thank you to everyone for reading and visiting my website, TheBallparkGuide.com. My hits and ad revenue are continuing to climb because of your visits and ad clicks. The more, the better — it’s all helping me pay for these trips! Thank you.

And remember, if you don’t already, please follow me on Twitter.

4 comments

  1. Sara

    Awesome! I grew up going to the Keys it’s what started my love of minor league baseball. Leigh is supposed to be a lot of fun, they have the same executive manager as the Squirrels in Richmond. And I believe you’ll see the Suns for the last time in Hagerstown since they’ll move to Winchester, VA in 2013, a whole new ballpark to review 🙂

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Do you have any tips about the Keys ballpark? I’m definitely excited to check it out. After I wrote this blog post yesterday, I planned a trip so I’ll have details posted pretty soon.
    I’d heard talk about Hagerstown moving, but didn’t recall if it was official, so thanks for the scoop. Definitely worth seeing one last time!
    Thanks, as always, for reading.
    Malcolm

  3. marsh10

    I have enjoyed watching Jeremy at all three parks. He is quick, plays smart and with the right coaching we should see him in the big league soon. His team mates are all playing good ball. That will help all of them excell. I enjoy watching the young players grow.

Leave a Reply

