Altoona Curve – May 24

The morning of Thursday, May 24 came very quickly. It was the final day of my road trip, and given that I’d averaged about four hours of sleep per night over the last few days, the 5:30 a.m. alarm was a bit of a jolt. But if there’s one thing that makes me move quickly in the morning, it’s knowing there’s a baseball game to attend.

I was in Frederick for the night after the previous day’s Keys game, and my day would begin with a two-and-a-half hour drive to Altoona. The Curve, who are the Eastern League affiliate of the Pittsburgh Pirates, were playing a 10:30 a.m. game, and I’d arranged to have a stadium tour with Mike Passanisi, the Curve’s director of communications. The tour was scheduled for 9 a.m., which meant I wanted to get on the road by 6:15 a.m. or so. The route from Frederick to Altoona includes many small back roads, and the drive was painfully slow. I can tell you I was thrilled when this appeared ahead of me:

Yep, Peoples Natural Gas Field, straight head! I ended up being 10 to 15 minutes late to our tour because of ridiculous traffic, so I parked quickly in the parking garage behind the outfield fence …

… and hustled along the sidewalk to get to the stadium as quickly as I could:

And, ta-da!:

When I picked up my media pass, I went upstairs to the press box, where I had this view while I waited for Mike:

Mike arrived a few minutes later, and despite his busy morning, made time to take me around the stadium and show me all the highlights. We checked out a few of the suites, including this one:

And then went down to the field, which never, ever gets old:

After we were on the field, we went through the tunnel to tour several places most people don’t get to see. But you will now! We went through the batting cage/training area, where a number of Curve players were getting loose:

I took a picture of this funny sign posted outside the room above:

We then went into the press conference room, which definitely has similarities to the rooms in MLB stadiums:

I was tempted to sit at the desk and shout, “No comment!” but decided to repress that urge so the tour could continue.

Next up were the home and visitors’ clubhouses, which were outstanding. Both were full of players, so I obviously didn’t take any photos, but it was definitely a highlight to see. Afterward, we climbed up to the concourse where I documented the team’s 2010 Eastern League championship banner:

A banner with the team’s 2005 opening day roster:

(Sorry, but as a Jays fan, I need to point out Rajai Davis and Jose Bautista.) This banner was part of a series around the concourse of each opening day roster in the Curve’s history. It’s the first type of display I can recall, and I think it’s a great way to pay tribute to past teams and players. Really cool. The concourse is also lined with banners of past stars, including Pittsburgh’s Andrew McCutchen. I love how the banner combines a picture of him then and now — really smart:

The tour zipped right along, but it was great talking about the stadium’s features with Mike. I’ll be highlighting more of them when I write the official fan guide to Peoples Natural Gas Field for TheBallparkGuide.com.

After our tour, I went up to the second deck on the third base side to capture the stadium in panorama form:

If you missed the roller coaster behind the right field fence, look again. It’s not part of the ballpark, but it’s still one of the coolest features you’ll see at any park. The roller coaster is part of Lakemont Park, an amusement park just beyond the ballpark’s fences. The roller coaster you see here …

… is called the Skyliner, and it’s one of four in the park. The park’s crown jewel is the Leap-the-Dips coaster, which opened in 1902 and is the oldest in-use roller coaster in the world.

After being up top, I continued wandering and captured a shot of the sign out front of the park:

Mike said the new logo on the sign was just a week old (Peoples Natural Gas Field was called Blair County Ballpark through last season) and the new sign isn’t completely finished. Soon, bricks will be added to make the sign more in line with the ballpark’s design.

By this time, Mike had re-appeared on the field with a Curve player who was fielding questions from fans over the PA system. It was a neat thing to see — fans asking about his favorite subjects in school, his favorite holiday, etc., certainly improves the player/fan connection. I definitely think more teams should do this:

As I continued walking, I spotted the players’ parking lot behind the first base side of the stadium:

With, of course, a Range Rover:

Range Rovers seem to be the popular choice among ballplayers. In fact, I wrote a blog entry a while back about players’ vehicles, and it’s a fun read.

I then changed direction and headed down the third base concourse, where I stopped to check out the team’s “Road to the Show” alumni board:

Here’s a close-up of a couple years:

I also checked out the Rail Kings party deck  in the left field corner, which offers a great view of the park and also includes small TVs built into the fence so that you can watch the game broadcast or check out how the Pirates are doing:

The bleachers in left field also provided a perfect view, and I decided I’d spend a few innings out here once the game started:

The kids’ area at Peoples Natural Gas Field included inflatable games …

… and arcade-style attractions:

I went to check out the team’s store down the third base line:

And as the game began, captured this quick shot of the ballpark’s impressive scoreboard:

All this walking worked up an appetite, so after spending the first inning in the outfield bleachers, where I had a close-up view of the team’s mascot Al Tuna (get it?) …

… I decided to get some breakfast/lunch. Mike had earlier recommended the Curverogie, a new menu item for 2012:

While this sandwich is certainly excessive, it was delicious. It wasn’t skimpy on the ham, and while the perogie sort of got lost, the ham, cheese and onions were tasty:

After eating, I documented my media pass, as I’ve been doing during each stop on this trip:

Then, it was time to find a seat along the third base side so I could capture some of the action on the field. Here’s Altoona starter Shairon Martis, who was solid through six innings and got the win:

And Curve third baseman Jeremy Farrell, who’s the son of Blue Jays manager John Farrell:

Before long, it was time to hit the road. I had to sneak out of this ballgame a little bit early so I could drive the four hours or so north to Buffalo for that night’s Bisons game at Coca-Cola Field. I absolutely hate leaving a game early, but sometimes it’s necessary to fit into my schedule. All in all, it was a great visit to Altoona. The park, built in 1999, is fantastic and if you’re in the area, it’s definitely a must visit.

Up next is the story of my visit to Buffalo later on May 24.

3 comments

  1. Minoring In Baseball

    The roller coaster in the outfield is an amazing aspect of this ballpark. I think my kids would really like to see this one. I’ll have to put this on next seasons schedule for sure!
    –Mike

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Craig: I think it would take a moonshot. Behind the outfield fence, there’s a hill going up, and then a chain-link fence that runs around the perimeter of the amusement park. The roller coaster looks about 10-20 feet beyond the chain-link fence. I’d hoped to get in the park to try to coaster, but it didn’t open for the season until the weekend.
    Mike: Yeah, it’s really neat! The history of the roller coaster is cool, too. But I think it’d be awesome to take a ride while the game is on!

Leave a Reply

