Day Trip Coming Up

On the morning of Thursday, July 19, I’ll be hopping in the car when it’s still dark out and doing something that’s a symptom of my baseball obsession — driving about nine hours round-trip to watch a three-hour baseball game.

And I can’t wait.

I’ll have an announcement about my next big baseball road trip before long, but in the meantime, I’m excited to share that I’ll be visiting Rochester’s Frontier Field in a little over a week. Almost two years ago to the day (July 16, 2010, to be exact), I visited Frontier Field, and it was the first ballpark I went to since launching TheBallparkGuide.com. Here’s a panorama I took during that visit:

Since then, I’ve been to more than 30 other parks on my travels.

So, why the return trip to Rochester? Well, there are several reasons. I absolutely loved the entire Frontier Field experience when I visited two years ago, and since Rochester is within day trip-distance for me, I’ve decided to go again. Although I normally travel solo, I’ll be joined on this trip by a friend who is also a photographer, and he’ll be helping me out by taking photos for my website. Last year, he visited Vermont’s Centennial Field with me, and you can check out a blog post about that visit here.

One of the unique things about this visit is that the Rochester Red Wings won’t even be playing. The Empire State Yankees (formerly the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees who are spending 2012 as a travel team) will be the home team, and they’ll host the Charlotte Knights.

I’m hoping to get a chance to be interviewed on the game’s radio broadcast to talk about my website, as I’ve done at other parks earlier this summer, and I’m also really looking forward to enjoying some of Frontier Field’s food. I’ve been unabashed in saying that Rochester’s ballpark has the best overall food quality and selection of any MiLB park I’ve visited. Last time, I had the buffalo chicken mac and cheese …

… and it was delicious. This time, I’m hoping to try a few other things, based on some recommendations from fans. (If you’ve been to Frontier Field and have a food recommendation, please post it in the comments below.)

I may post a few goals prior to this trip, as I’ve done in the past, but either way, it should be a great day.

Thanks for reading!

2 comments

  1. Dan Ange

    Bring me with you! I just read your writeup from two years ago. Thank you for such a great review of my childhood stadium. I haven’t lived in Rochester since 2006 when I moved away for college, and I went to many Wings games as a kid. Can’t beat $10 for the best seats in the house.

    Food suggestions:
    Go to the Home Plate concession stand (behind home) and get the fresh cut chili cheese fries (the chili will be different, but better, than you expect). Also get a “white hot” with a little mustard. These were always my must haves, plus if you’re coming hungry, they should leave you room for more.

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Dan,
    Thanks for your comment! I appreciate your tips with the food; I’ll check them out. Because it’s an Empire State Yankees home game, rather than a Red Wings home game, not all the concessions are open, so I’ll see what I can get. It’s really cool to read about your experiences at Frontier Field. I love writing about my travels and enjoy when people get a kick out of them, too. I plan to blog about this visit on Friday, so please feel free to check back then!
    Where do you live now? Is there another team in your area?
    Thanks for reading,
    Malcolm

Leave a Reply

