Connecticut Tigers – August 17

After my day in New Britain, I had just a short drive to Norwich, CT to see the New York-Penn League’s Connecticut Tigers play. When I reached town, I checked into my hotel and caught some Little League World Series action for an hour or two on TV until it was time to head out for my latest ballpark visit for The Ballpark Guide.

As has been the case so far on this trip, I continue to have great luck with hotels. For my visit to Norwich, I was staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plainfield. I took this rainy shot of it the following morning before heading to Boston for the Futures at Fenway doubleheader:

The inside of my room looked like this:

And this:

I’ll definitely stay at this hotel next time I visit Norwich. It’s only about 20 minutes from Dodd Stadium, home of the Tigers, and if you’re in need of a snack after the game, the hotel is next door to a Domino’s and a Wendy’s. The hotel is just a minute off the highway and as far as my room, it was clean, spacious and the hotel’s amenities (gym, breakfast room, etc.) were all great.

I didn’t find Dodd Stadium particularly easy to reach, but I think that’s because my GPS somehow instructed me to take the long way. The ballpark is in the rear of a business park, and as you’re driving through the park, you definitely get the feeling that you’re in the wrong spot. Thankfully, the team does a great job of posting signs along the route to assure you that you’re pointed in the right direction. After a couple minutes wondering if the park would ever appear ahead of me, this is what I saw:

It was still quite early, so there were only a couple fans milling about. I took advantage of the open area in front of the park to take this panorama:

And quickly document my media pass, which Jon Versteeg, the team’s director of media relations, had left for me:

Thanks, Jon! I really appreciate it.

Although the pass would allow me early access to the park, I decided to wander around for a bit, and as is my norm, and see if it was possible to get a ball during batting practice. I set out walking to the left side of the main gate, which heads toward the left field corner. From a spot on the hill overlooking the park, I could see the visiting Hudson Valley Renegades throwing …

… but this fence gave me the subtle indication that I wouldn’t be getting behind the outfield fence:

Fortunately, just as there are two sides to every story, there are also two sides to every outfield. I retraced my steps and went over to the right field corner. On the way, I passed this submarine, which would later be firing T-shirts at unsuspecting fans:

The road on this side of the park is frequently used by the grounds crew, and there were lots of lawnmowers and other equipment used for maintenance of Dodd Stadium. I was excited to see the gate in the corner open, as I knew it would allow me to watch BP instead of just stand blindly behind the fence:

Before I got much closer, though, I saw this to my right:

The ball was was so worn that I couldn’t tell what was stamped on it, but it wasn’t an MiLB or MLB ball. Either way, this is number five on my trip, so I’m halfway to my goal of 10. The area behind the fence was a mishmash of stuff, including a stadium seat graveyard:

There was also a fireman sitting in his SUV back here, presumably preventing fans from walking close to the setup area for the evening’s fireworks show and subsequently catching on fire. We had a memorable exchange:

Me: Hello.

Fireman: Are you Gary?

Me: No, I’m just looking around and taking some photos.

Fireman: Well, if you’re not Gary or with Gary, you have to leave.

This didn’t dissuade my hopes of getting a BP home run ball, however. I hung out in the open gate and watched the players hit, but I didn’t see a single home run. Not one! Still, it was fun to watch BP from field level, and I talked briefly with Hudson Valley starter Sean Bierman who, in his first year of pro ball, is 3-2 with a strikeout to walk ratio of 30:4!

Eventually, I abandoned the plan to get a ball and decided to enter Dodd Stadium and watch the last bit of BP from the stands. Because almost every Minor League park’s gates don’t open until BP is done, it’s always a treat to sit in the front row behind the dugout and watch the players hit and take infield practice. I walked to the main gate, showed my pass to the ticket taker and expected him to open the gate and let me in. He said I could just come in myself, and in doing so, I managed to close the steel gate on my finger.

Despite my throbbing finger, I got to field level and took a spot behind the visitors’ dugout. Sure enough, the Renegades were still practicing. As BP wrapped up, the players had to take the steps up through the seating bowl to their clubhouse, as is common at many parks in the low Minor Leagues. I turned to take this photo …

… and then heard, “Hey! No photos!” Despite being surprised by the shout, I wasn’t caught off guard because I knew that I wasn’t doing anything wrong. I turned quickly and saw someone on a Renegades uniform duck into the dugout, and a handful of players smiling. Obviously, someone was just messing with me, and that someone, I believe, was manager Jared Sandberg, who you might recall as having played parts of three seasons with Tampa Bay between 2001 and 2003. In 2002, he hit 18 home runs in 102 games. A moment later, Sandberg (#22) called his players in for a quick meeting:

And shortly thereafter, they finished up and disappeared. Time for me to explore the ballpark a little!

I quickly noticed that the seats I saw the night before in New Britain were also here in Norwich. Dodd Stadium has normal box seats in the lower part of the bowl, but the upper is made up of these highchair-style seats:

The team shop at Dodd was absolutely awesome. Because the team was based in Oneonta, New York through the 2009 season, there were a number of Oneonta Tigers items at ridiculous prices — like polos for $5 and game-used stuff for $20. Unfortunately, small was the dominant size, and I couldn’t even find a medium to try. I did, however, spend $3 on a T-shirt that I’ll post at a later date.

While I was browsing around the store, a couple notable things happened. Pitcher Ramon Lebron showed up for an autograph signing, and because the park was still relatively uncrowded, the lineup of fans waiting for his autograph was approximately zero. Because I had a media pass, I wasn’t permitted to get autographs, and I sort of felt badly for him. I was glad when a few kids in the shop got him to sign their gear on the way out.

Second, I found a $5 bill in the team store! I had mixed feelings about picking it up, because someone had obviously dropped it a short time earlier, but asking, “Hey, did anyone lose $5?” is a good way to have everyone volunteer to take the money. I lingered around the store in case someone made a kerfuffle about losing the money. Sure enough, I overheard a kid complaining that he’d lost $5 a few minutes later, so I gave it back to him. Good deed done for the day!

Here’s a shot of some of the game-used stuff for sale:

And a close-up of one of the wall next to the signing booth, where I assume players scrawl their name whenever they visit. I think it’s a neat touch:

By now, the players were back on the field, so I got my first look at Connecticut. I think their uniforms are one of the sharpest in the NYPL. I like the simple approach, which is obviously modeled after their parent club in Detroit. As the players warmed up, I took photos of a few of them, including Jared Reaves:

Starting pitcher Endrys Briceno, who gave up seven hits and two earned runs over five innings in a non-decision:

Briceno is listed at 6’5″, 150 lbs., which might make him the lightest pro ball player I’ve ever noticed.

And catcher Tim Remes, who picked up his first RBI in a Connecticut uniform after being called up from the Gulf Coast League a short while earlier:

When the game began, I settled into a spot on the third base side for a couple innings, and then began to explore my food options. The Burger Barn stand in the right field corner appeared to have the most appealing menu, so I asked what the server recommended. She suggested the Cheesy Potato Burger, which is covered in, as you might suspect, cheese and French fries. In case your potato intake was dangerously low, it was served with a side of … fried chips. I decided to go with her suggestion, and although my stomach is casting me dirty glances as I write this early the following morning, the burger was tasty:

And hugely filling. I wasn’t a fan of the fried chips, and the burger left me more than full anyway.

Once I finished the burger (and it took some time), I waddled over to a seat behind the protective netting and watched the rest of the game with this view:

The Tigers won 5-3, despite just six hits, and a couple minutes after the team celebrated its win on the mound …

… I hopped in the car, skipping the fireworks show, to get back to my hotel.

13 comments

  1. Mike

    Malcolm, I’m still looking forward to seeing you on Wednesday at Fenway. Meet me at the Red Sox Nation entrance by gate C on Lansdowne street at about 3:30 pm. Yea, we don’t get in until 4:40, but it would be nice to chat with you about your travels and your blog.

  2. Chris Bunting (@bzblfan)

    I am impressed with the quality of the short-season NY/Penn ballparks you have visited (as compared to the older Appy League parks in this area.) I’m sure attendance is much greater in the NY/Penn league since many teams are based in higher population areas. Great post – I like the pix of the autograph wall!

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Hi Chris,
      Yes, a lot of them are really nice. Some of the older ones, like Auburn, are probably more in line with what you’ve got in the Appy League. Others, like Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, are as nice as any MiLB park you’ll ever see. I think the main factor is age.
      Thanks for reading!
      Malcolm

  3. baseballandadegree

    Caught a game in Oneonta when the Tigers played there back in 2009, a half hour drive from Cooperstown, so I thought I might as well. I thought very highly of the Oneonta team’s uniforms just as you did about Connecticut’s, very similar. Their stadium was nice as well, very cozy, lots of history, and a stunning view of some beautiful mountains. From what I see, I’m not as fond of the Connecticut team’s stadium. Definitely not a fan of placing ballparks in business parks and other areas with lower land value. But I’m just nit-picking, your trip has looked great thus far, enjoy your games at Fenway.
    -Michael

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Hi Michael,
      I loved Oneonta’s uniforms as well! That’s cool you got to check them out before they moved. Dodd Stadium opened in ’95 so it sort of has that “mid-90s” feel to it. It lacks some of the perks of newer parks, but I still enjoyed my visit.
      Thanks for reading!
      Malcolm

  4. Dave

    Great site, I also enjoy ballparks(and arenas) and enjoy reading of your experiences. Question: When minor league teams play early afternoon games do they do batting practice? If so, is it generally the same-2 hrs. before opening pitch?

Leave a Reply

