2012 Media Passes and Tickets

Nearly a year ago, I spent a bunch of time scanning and posting all my tickets from my baseball road trips in 2010 and 2011 for The Ballpark Guide, and I think it was a neat look at how different teams do their tickets. If you haven’t seen that, you can view that post here.

And then, after my first road trip from this past summer, I blogged about all the media passes I received. You can read all about it here.

On my second road trip of 2012, I was fortunate enough to get media passes to most of the games, but occasionally bought my own ticket. All this means that in this post, I’ll have a combination of media passes and tickets to share with you.

The first game of my August road trip was in Troy, N.Y., to watch the Tri-City ValleyCats. I meet the team’s media/production manager Chris Chenes for a pre-game tour, and as he gave me my press pass, he said, “One to add to your collection. I saw your blog entry about media passes.” It was a cool moment, and thanks again, Chris, for everything. If you’re interested in the ValleyCats or the New York-Penn League, you can follow Chris on Twitter.

Here’s the Tri-City pass:

tri-city-valleycats-media-pass

The next day, I drove to New Britain, CT, to watch the Rock Cats. I didn’t get a pass for that game, so here’s my ticket:

new-britain-rock-cats-ticket

A day later, I was in nearby Norwich, CT, to see the Connecticut Tigers, and they were kind enough to give me a media pass:

connecticut-tigers-media-pass

Next up was Boston, where I watched the absolutely outstanding Futures at Fenway doubleheader. I bought my own ticket for this event, but it was well worth it for eight-plus hours in Fenway Park. For some reason, this ticket has decided to grow legs and is hiding from me. When I’m able to solve this troubling conundrum, I’ll post the ticket here.

After visiting Fenway for the first time, I made the short drive to Pawtucket, R.I., to see the International League’s Red Sox, and got this awesome press pass:

pawtucket-red-sox-media-pass

Then, it was back to the New York-Penn League to watch the Lowell Spinners, who gave me this pass, which was on a neat Spinners lanyard:

lowell-spinners-media-pass

Twenty-four hours after seeing the Spinners, it was back to Boston to watch the Red Sox host the Angels:

boston-red-sox-ticket

If you read my blog entry about the BoSox game, you might recall that I paid $15 more to park than I paid for my ticket. Ugh.

A day later, I checked out Fenway Park in a tour, which you can read about here. The pass, as you can see, has the same background as a game ticket, but with different lettering:

boston-red-sox-fenway-park-tour-ticket

The last game of my August road trip was in New York’s Hudson Valley to watch the Renegades. The NYPL team keeps it simple with its press passes:

hudson-valley-renegades-media-pass

In September, I caught two Blue Jays games against the Yankees. I’ve been to several Jays games in the past, and if you clicked the first link in this entry, you’ll see a handful of tickets to Rogers Centre. Nonetheless, here are the two tickets from a few months back:

toronto-blue-jays-2012-ticket-1

toronto-blue-jays-2012-ticket-2

(I should note that when I dug through my backpack to find the Jays tickets, I also found a granola bar that the team was giving away to people before the game. Time to get snacking.)

9 comments

  1. Nick Badders

    It’s awesome that you are able to get Media Passes for most Minor League teams! How do you apply for Media Passes? Is it a process of emailing teams or what do you do in order to obtain them? Do they give you the Media Pass because you have TheBallparkGuide.com? You might know that I write the MLBlog, 7000 Coliseum Way, so would I be able to get a Media Pass for a MILB team, or would it be a problem because I am under 18? If so, how would I be able to obtain a pass?
    -Nick Badders
    http://nickbadderstheteenbaseballexpert.mlblogs.com

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Hi Nick,
      I just email the teams and explain about my website, and pretty much everyone has been awesome so far. I get media passes because I’m basically only going to each ballpark once. I send them the link to my website, explain what I do, etc. I don’t think your age would be a problem, but if you wanted to get passes for a bunch of games in Oakland, for example, I don’t know if they’d agree to that. I’ve found the MLB teams are harder to deal with; more red tape, etc.
      Thanks for reading and let me know if you’ve got any other questions!
      I’ve seen your blog a bunch of times and think it’s great!
      Malcolm

      • Nick Badders

        Malcolm-
        Thank You very much! Since I’ll be getting A’s season tickets in 2013, it decreases the number of Minor League games that I will likely go to, and considering how many MILB parks there are within a 2-hour radius of the Bay Area, I have plenty of options. How many days away from the game do you usually email the teams? What email do you use? Would you think it is worth asking for one for one A’s game, or should I not bother?
        Thanks for your help!
        -Nick
        http://nickbadderstheteenbaseballexpert.mlblogs.com

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Nick,
    Yeah, tons of ballpark options for you! I can’t wait till I get out to that area — so many great parks to visit. I normally touch base with the teams a couple weeks in advance of my visit and use my TheBallparkGuide.com email address. I’m not sure about the A’s; I guess it’s worth a try, but if you’re already getting season tickets, you probably wouldn’t need one. Teams have been good to me because I’m writing guides to their ballparks, thus hopefully encouraging more fans to visit. What angle were you hoping to take to get a media pass? (ie: I have nothing against ballhawking, but can’t see a team giving out a pass so someone can get a head start on snagging balls, you know?)
    Malcolm

    • Nick

      Ok. Thanks! In 2013, I’ll be writing blog entries profiling each stadium I go to In an entry separate from the game entry. I’ll talk about how I will do that, I think. Any specific ideas? I know I will avoid all talks of snagging balls.
      -Nick

      • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

        That sounds cool. Good luck with it! I imagine you’ll get varying responses depending on how much each team likes the idea, but good luck with it. I think it’s a great way for a team to get positive coverage, so I hope you have success. I’ll definitely keep an eye on your blog and if you’ve got any other questions, just let me know.
        Malcolm

Leave a Reply

