My Ball Collection, Part II

Last offseason, I blogged about my baseball collection from my first two summers of traveling for The Ballpark Guide. Since then, I’ve been to several additional ballparks and have managed to add a bunch more balls to my collection:

baseball-collection-2

By the end of last year, my collection totaled 59, and with the 19 balls I added this year, I’m now up to 78. This means I shouldn’t have any trouble reaching 100 during one of my road trips in 2013.

(Before you get too excited to tell me that 78 balls isn’t a lot compared to a bunch of other collectors, I’ll remind you that I’m not a ballhawk. I like trying to get a ball at each of the parks I visit, and I occasionally enjoy trying to snag one during BP. I don’t ask for balls and I don’t compete with others. If I’m lucky enough to get one, I’m happy. If not, I’m not going to shed any tears.)

One of the things I enjoy about my ball collection is breaking down the different leagues represented on each ball. I’ll provide the totals in a moment, but first, here’s the rundown on what I got this summer:

Major League Baseball: 4
New York-Penn League: 4
Eastern League: 4
Carolina League: 3
International League: 2
Cape Cod Baseball League: 1
National Collegiate Athletic Association: 1

All this means that my totals are now up to:

Major League Baseball: 26
New York-Penn League: 19
Eastern League: 10
International League: 5
Midwest League: 4
South Atlantic League: 4
Carolina League: 3
Minor League Baseball: 2
Minor League Baseball Practice Ball: 2
Northwest League: 1
Cape Cod Baseball League: 1
National Collegiate Athletic Association: 1

The three oddest balls I’ve collected during my travels are from the Northwest League, Cape Cod Baseball League and NCAA — odd, given that I haven’t been to games from any of these leagues. I found the Northwest League ball during batting practice in Vermont last year, the Cape Cod league ball during BP at a Hudson Valley Renegades game this past August and the NCAA ball sitting in the grass in Lakewood, N.J., while I was wandering around during a rained-out BlueClaws game.

Of the 12 minor leagues between Short-Season A and Triple-A, I’ve got balls from seven of the leagues. Anyone else have balls from this many? If so, let me know about it in the comments below, and if you’ve got a blog post about it, include that, too.

2 comments

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Mateo,
      Well, you’ve got hundreds more balls that me, so I think your collection is still cooler. I’m looking forward to eventually getting a ball from each league and then displaying them together in a case. Thanks for reading!
      Malcolm

Leave a Reply

