My Shirt Collection is Growing

About a year ago, I wrote a blog post detailing all the shirts I’d bought or picked up in stadium giveaways during my 2011 road trips. I didn’t get as many shirts in 2012, partly because I didn’t attend quite as many games and partly because I’ve got to pull back the reins on my T-shirt collection. If you saw my closet, you’d know what I mean.

Anyway, I still managed to add a half-dozen shirts to the collection this year.

Here they are in the order in which I bought ’em:

Tri-City ValleyCats

I’ve been to Tri-City’s Joseph L. Bruno Stadium on two occasions, 2010 and 2012, and I loved the experience each time. When I visited in 2010, the ‘Cats were hosting the Brooklyn Cyclones in the first game of the New York-Penn League championship, which Tri-City eventually won. And when I got back to the park this past August, one of the items that caught my eye in the team shop was a long-sleeved T-shirt commemorating that title. Here’s a close-up of the front of the shirt:

tri-city-valleycats-201-nypl-championship-t-shirt-front

And the back, which has a fun pun:

tri-city-valleycats-201-nypl-championship-t-shirt-back

Connecticut Tigers

The Detroit Tigers are one of my favorite MLB teams, and given that I really like the look of their NYPL affiliate’s uniforms and logo, I had my mind set on buying something from the Connecticut Tigers’ team shop during my visit. A few items stood out, but when I saw this Connecticut Defenders T-shirt on the remainder rack, I had to grab it. The Tigers have played in Norwich, CT, since 2010, but before that, the city was home to the Double-A Defenders from 1995 to 2009. As you might’ve read in my last post, I’m interested in military history, so the sub design is cool. And I couldn’t resist the price tag of just $3:

connecticut-defenders-t-shirt

Lowell Spinners

Some shirts quickly become among your favorites, and this Lowell Spinners pullover is on that list. As you might remember from last year’s post about clothing, I bought a Binghamton Mets pullover in 2011. That shirt was a replica of what the players wear on the field, but this Spinners item is made by Majestic and is exactly what the players wear. I love the look and feel of these pullovers (who thought this blog would turn into a fashion critique?) and will be on the lookout this summer for other pullovers like it:

lowell-spinners-pullover-front

And here’s a close-up of the stitched logo beneath the collar:

lowell-spinners-pullover-logo

Toronto Blue Jays 1

I hit two Jays games in September and because all my Jays stuff features the old logo, I wanted to get something featuring the current design. Before the game, I stopped and bought this Brett Lawrie jersey T-shirt:

brett-lawrie-jersey-t-shirt-blue-jays-front

And here’s the back:

brett-lawrie-jersey-t-shirt-blue-jays-back

Toronto Blue Jays 2

I ended up wearing the Lawrie T-shirt for both games, but in the second game at Rogers Centre, the team was giving away player jersey T-shirts because it was fan appreciation weekend. There were a number of guys featured on the shirts, and I ended up getting J.P. Arencibia. It’s neat to have a white jersey T-shirt to contrast the blue one, and even neater that Arencibia wasn’t traded away in the off-season. Except for the hardware store logo on the sleeve, you’d never know this wasn’t the type of shirt sold in stores:

jp-arencibia-shirt-front

The back:

jp-arencibia-shirt-back

Washington Nationals

True, I didn’t visit D.C. this summer, but last year, my brother got me a gift card to the MLB Shop for Christmas, and I’d been hanging onto it until I found something I really wanted. Just before Christmas, I bought this Bryce Harper jersey T-shirt. If you’re new to this blog, check out this post to see why I’m such a fan of Harper. Here’s the front:

bryce-harper-jersey-t-shirt-nationals-front

And the back:

bryce-harper-jersey-t-shirt-nationals

I’ve still got a bunch of cool things to blog about this off-season before I start revealing my road trip plans for 2013. If you’re planning any trips yourself, check out The Ballpark Guide to learn how to make the most of your ballpark visits and, as always, you can follow me on Twitter.

4 comments

  1. Minoring In Baseball

    Having some t-shirts with the great minor league logos is always fun. I’ll be wearing the ones from last year’s trip this season. Also cool if you see teams in the same system at different levels. I collect penants from all the teams/ballparks I’ve been to also. I can almost fill and entire wall, and they look great on display.
    -Mike

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Mike,
      Your pennant idea is neat. I haven’t collected one specific thing from each of the parks I’ve visited, but I try to get something to remember my stay. Do you have any pictures of your pennant wall?
      Thanks for reading!
      Malcolm

Leave a Reply

