Some Souvenirs I Picked Up in 2012

I was lucky enough to see 18 games at 16 parks in 2012, and while last year wasn’t quite as busy as 2011, in which I saw 29 games in 24 parks, it was still packed with awesome moments. For a complete rundown on everywhere I’ve been since I started The Ballpark Guide in 2010, you can check out this link.

On my travels, I occasionally get to pick up some neat souvenirs. Traveling in itself is expensive, so I don’t always splurge for extras, but between some neat ballpark giveaways, cool things to buy and unforeseen adventures, I’m often able to pick up a few things of note.

When I visited the Eastern League’s New Britain Rock Cats in August, I had to buy a ticket for the game — all the other MiLB teams I visited in 2012 hooked me up with press passes, which was awesome. Buying a ticket to see the Rock Cats wasn’t all bad, though, as my visit happened to fall on the evening of an above-average stadium giveaway. On this night, the team was handing out blankets, which is something different for my collection and actually useful:

new-britain-rock-cats-blanket

It’s big enough (4 feet by 4.5 feet) that it’s hard to photograph, but I think you’ll agree that it looks great.

A few days later, I visited LeLacheur Park, home of the Short Season-A Lowell Spinners. This visit was outstanding. Not only did I get a comprehensive tour from Jon Boswell, the team’s director of media relations, but the ballpark is absolutely beautiful. During our tour, we talked about boxer Micky Ward being from Lowell and Jon told me he’s met Ward on more than one occasion. In fact, the team had had a Micky Ward garden gnome giveaway at one point. Before I could hardly comment, Jon rifled through a box in the team’s office and dug up a Ward gnome for me!

micky-ward-lowell-spinners-garden-gnome

While Ward might look a little silly with a gnome hat and beard, this is a neat item to add to my collection, especially given that I’m a huge fan of boxing and have a bunch of Ward fight posters and even a boxing glove signed by him. As you can see here, he’s depicted in his Lowell Spinners trunks, which he’s actually worn in the ring:

micky-ward-lowell-spinners-trunks

When I had the fortune of visiting Fenway Park during its 100th season, I definitely wanted to get my hands on a couple 100th anniversary souvenirs. I bought a 100th anniversary cap, which you can see here, and since I loved the logo, I also picked up this large crest:

fenway-park-100-years-patch

As you can see, I haven’t taken it out of the package yet, as I’m still contemplating whether to stick it to something or not.

During my Fenway visit, I also couldn’t resist getting a drink in a Fenway Park commemorative cup:

fenway-park-souvenir-cup

It goes well with the other cups I’ve picked up on my travels:

souvenir-cup-collection

Late in the summer, when I was back home, I bought a couple cans of something to put in the cups above:

toronto-blue-jays-budweiser-cans

I used to collect sports-themed commemorative soda cans, but I’m a big fan of these Budweiser Jays cans.

And speaking of the Blue Jays, I picked up my last souvenir of 2012 when I caught a couple games at Rogers Centre in September. The Jays significantly revamped their team shop before last season, and it featured a ton of neat game-used and player-issued items. When I was browsing through the store, I came across this:

curtis-thigpen-name-plate

It’s the name plate off former catcher Curtis Thigpen’s locker stall in the clubhouse. Thigpen played just 57 games over parts of 2007 and 2008 with Toronto, but he was a prospect I followed very closely. I’m a huge Texas Longhorns fan, and when the Jays drafted Thigpen out of Texas in 2004, I was super pumped. I closely followed Thigpen’s progress through the minors, including his stops in Auburn, Lansing, New Hampshire and Syracuse, and although he had a short MLB career, he was one of the guys I really rooted for. This was his name plate during the 2008 season and, as you can see, it’s got the MLB authenticated hologram in the lower right corner.

If you’re wondering how much of a fan of Thigpen I am, I can tell you I’ve got almost all his signed baseball cards and this beauty — a game-used bat that I picked up a few years ago:

curtis-thigpen-louisville-slugger

A close-up of the barrel:

curtis-thigpen-louisville-slugger-name

The rear of the barrel:

curtis-thigpen-louisville-slugger-barrel

And the knob:

curtis-thigpen-louisville-slugger-knob

In fact, I’ve got the clubhouse name plate and bat displayed together here in my home office, and they look awesome.

Thinking about the Jays has me fired up for Opening Day, so I’ll share another souvenir. I didn’t get this one in 2012 (although the Jays are still selling these) but I think you’ll agree it’s neat. It’s a piece of authenticated turf from the team’s World Series wins in 1992 and 1993:

rogers-centre-skydome-turf-world-series

Just for you, I’ll pop open the box and show you the actual piece of turf:

rogers-centre-skydome-turf

I wonder what souvenirs I’ll end up picking up this year. I’m going to be visiting a ton of ballparks in 2013; significantly more than I did in 2012, so there’ll be lots of opportunities for neat items to grab and share with everyone here.

Thanks for reading and please remember to follow me on Twitter and visit The Ballpark Guide to help support my trips!

2 comments

  1. Jason Hart

    You said the Jays are still selling those turf pieces. Just wondering where you’ve seen them. Id love to get one. Thanks.

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Hi Jason,
      The last time I was at Rogers Centre, they were selling these turf pieces in the memorabilia section at the back of the team shop. It’s been a couple years, though, so I’m not positive they’re still there. I recall them being in some sort of glass display case.
      Good luck!
      Malcolm

Leave a Reply

