First Game(s) of 2013 Just Around the Corner

As far as I’m concerned, the only thing nearly as great as going on baseball road trips is planning them. As soon as the MLB and MiLB schedules are released each year, I spend hours coming up with a number of road trip plans and even a few day trips. I live several hours from the nearest pro ball team, but in the past, I’ve taken day trips to Syracuse’s Alliance Bank Stadium, Vermont’s Centennial Field and Rochester’s Frontier Field. Day trips make for a heck of a lot of driving, but they’re a fun way to kick off the season and get me even more primed for the longer road trips just around the corner.

All that said, I’m very excited to reveal my first game — or more specifically, games — of the 2013 season. On Sunday, April 14, I’ll be in Syracuse to watch the Triple-A Chiefs host the Lehigh Valley IronPigs. And to make things even more exciting, it’s a doubleheader! Since I launched The Ballpark Guide in 2010, I’ve been to two doubleheaders, both of which were in 2011. I saw a Washington Nationals twin bill at Nationals Park and a Lake County Captains doubleheader at Classic Park. But I’ve never been to one in Syracuse, which has a park with a unique design that I think makes it one of the sharpest-looking ballparks in the International League:

alliance-bank-stadium-outside

Even though I’ve only been to one home Chiefs game, I’ve always wanted to get back to the ‘Cuse. In fact, I tried to kick off my 2011 road trips with a day trip to Syracuse that resulted in a rainout, which you can read about here. Then, last year, I stopped at Alliance Bank Stadium to take a couple photos, including the one below, before continuing on to the rest of my road trip:

malcolm-at-alliance-bank-stadium

Anyway, beyond getting a double dose of baseball to kick off my 2013 season, I’m extra excited to return to Syracuse to document the recent changes to the ballpark. In the off-season, the Chiefs changed the name of Alliance Bank Stadium to NBT Bank Stadium. Of course, there will be new signs to photograph but as it’s been a while since I was inside the ballpark, I’m curious to see what looks different inside. I’m excited to say the Chiefs are hooking me up with media credentials for the game, so I should have an awesome opportunity to explore the park and share a lot of cool photos and stories here on my blog, as well as provide more details for fans on my website.

The forecast for the game is looking darned cold — Weather.com says the high for the day will be just 46 degrees, which might make this unofficially the coldest game I’ve ever attended. But as long the rain stays away, you won’t hear any complaining from me. I’m excited to get in to NBT Bank Stadium before the gates open, scout out some areas that I didn’t see during my last visit, eat a few items off the concession menu, take a ton of photos and just generally hang out in a ballpark for eight-plus hours. As always, I plan to provide Tweets about my adventure throughout the game.

If you’re in the Syracuse area, are planning to visit NBT Bank Stadium on April 14 and want to say hello, leave me a comment below, send me an email or follow me on Twitter. And as always, please visit The Ballpark Guide to help plan your own baseball road trips and support mine. And if you really enjoy following my baseball adventures, please consider making a small donation to keep the road trips going! If you’re a Chiefs fan but won’t be around on April 14, feel free to get in touch to provide any tips about NBT Bank Stadium. Any must-eat concession items? Cool places to see? I’m open to all suggestions.

4 comments

  1. Minoring In Baseball

    Have fun at your games next weekend. We had a pretty good time at Syracuse last year. We’re heading downstate to Great Lakes and Lansing this week, but looks like we could get rain! It sucks, because, like you, we’re a few hours from the closest teams, and we never know when we’ll be able to make the trip again.
    -Mike

    • Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

      Thanks, Mike! I’m really excited. Hope you guys have a great time at Great Lakes and Lansing, too — two of the parks I’ve really enjoyed visiting. I’m going to re-read your blog entry about your visit to Syracuse right now. I’ll also keep my fingers crossed weather-wise for both of us!
      Malcolm

  2. Malcolm - TheBallparkGuide

    Mike,
    Well, I hope the weatherman is wrong for you! The Syracuse weather says it’ll be a high of 50 now, which is better than it said yesterday. And they’re calling for just a 10 percent chance of rain, which seems pretty good. Pumped for some doubleheader action! Good luck with your games!
    Malcolm

Leave a Reply

