I’m Packing My Bags Again

It’s been a slow summer of traveling for me, but I’ve had hopes of getting on the road once more for a road trip before the Minor League Baseball season is over. And finally, I’ve got things planned!

I’ll begin my road trip on Friday, when I’ll be in Rochester to watch the Red Wings host the Buffalo Bisons at Frontier Field. I haven’t made it a secret that Frontier Field provides one of my favorite overall ballpark experiences, so I can’t wait to get back. In fact, the Rochester park serves up one of the best things I’ve ever eaten at a ballpark, and I’m sure I’ll cross paths with this sandwich again:

frontier-field-food-red-osier-roast-beef-sandwich

On Saturday morning, I’ll hit the road to Pittsburgh to see Pirates games on Saturday, Aug. 30 and Sunday, Aug. 31. I’ve been trying to get to PNC Park for years, but it’s never worked out because of scheduling issues. I’m excited to see the Bucs host the Cincinnati Reds for two games and get the chance to explore this park, which many people consider one of the best in the majors. The food selection looks outstanding, too, so I’m sure you’ll see some mouthwatering photos in my blog on the weekend.

On Monday morning, I’ll make the short drive from Pittsburgh to Jamestown, N.Y., to watch the hometown Jammers face the Mahoning Valley Scrappers in New York-Penn League action. The Jammers play at Russell Diethrick Park, which is one of the oldest parks in the minors and this game will be the final one of their season, so I’m happy to be able to fit it in.

The next day, on Tuesday, Sept. 2., I’ll head back to the Pittsburgh area to visit Washington, PA. There, the Washington Wild Things will host the Evansville Otters in independent league action. Jeremy Nowak, whose name you’ll recognize if you’re a longtime follower of this blog, is playing for Evansville this season, and I can’t wait to see him in action for the fourth time. It’ll be a doubleheader, so it should be lots of fun. And, as a bonus, his parents plan to attend this game — I met them last summer in New Jersey and had a blast hanging out with them for the game.

As always, I’ll be blogging and tweeting along the way. If you plan to be in any of these cities, give me a shout and we’ll meet up and say hello.

Remember, if you enjoy reading my blog and following along with my travel adventures, you can give me a helping hand without it costing you an extra cent. Please take a moment to check out this page. Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

