Pittsburgh Pirates – August 29

After spending August 28 with the independent Washington Wild Things, it was time to take a step up to the big leagues with a trip to Pittsburgh for a pair of Pirates games. I had the chance to visit the Steel City last season and loved PNC Park, so it was a no brainer to return again this year. I stayed in the same hotel as last year, too, and you can read more about that awesome experience later in this post.

Since Washington is on the outskirts of Pittsburgh, I got to the city well before my 3 p.m. hotel check-in time and the 7 p.m. Pirates game, so I spent a few hours at the Senator John Heinz History Center, a Smithsonian-affiliated museum that also features the Western Pennsylvania Sports Museum and is located directly across the street from my hotel. I took a ton of pictures during my visit and will be sharing them in an off-season post.

When I got into my hotel room, I took the following photo that shows the great view out one of my room’s windows:

hampton-inn-suites-pittsburgh-downtown-window-view

The tall stadium lights you see close to the center of the image are, you guessed it, PNC Park. If you think the view looks familiar, you’re right! My hotel room view was virtually identical last season. In fact, I might have been staying in the exact same room.

After relaxing for a bit, I packed up my camera stuff and began the short walk over to PNC Park. The route between the hotel and the ballpark takes you right along the edge of the Allegheny River on a picturesque pathway that looks like this:

pittsburgh-bridges

Part of the path was flooded during my visit in 2014, so it was nice to be able to walk the length of the route this time. Once I’d walked for a few minutes, I could clearly see the PNC Park sign, framed below the Roberto Clemente Bridge, which is closed to vehicles and used by pedestrians on Pirates game days:

pnc-park-clemente-bridge-from-sidewaljk

As I did last year, I crossed the bridge by walking right down the center line …

pnc-park-clemente-bridge-walk

… but this year, I noticed a cool detail on the images painted on the bike lanes — the cyclist is wearing a Pirates cap, Clemente’s #21 jersey and old-school stirrups:

pnc-park-clemente-bridge-bike-lane

I got to the park about an hour before the gates opened and the crowd, as expected, was bananas. It was Bill Mazeroski statue giveaway day, which meant that fans were lining up very early to ensure they got their hands on the keepsake. I wasn’t too worried about getting in line right away. I knew that I’d be among the first 10,000 fans to enter PNC Park, which meant I’d get a statue whether I was at the start of the line or toward the end of it.

So, once I picked up my ticket …

pnc-park-ticket

… I walked around to the home plate entrance to take this panorama that shows the Honus Wagner statue and the ballpark behind it:

pnc-park-pano-wagner-statue

As you can see, the crowds in this area were pretty minor. That’s because the park’s Riverwalk entrance, which is located adjacent to the Roberto Clemente Bridge, opens 30 minutes before all the other gates in the park. After shooting these photos, I walked toward the river, where there’s a Mazeroski statue that many fans gather around:

pnc-park-bill-mazeroski-statue

After shooting this photo and taking a brief look at the river, I lined up at the right field gate and was only about a dozen people from the head of the line:

pnc-park-right-field-gate

Within a few minutes, the line was growing and I noticed the guy directly behind me was randomly munching on a chicken wing. I figured he’d maybe carried it from a nearby sports bar, but I was downright confused when he finished it and mysteriously produced another one. Since he was right behind me, I couldn’t blatantly turn around to eye up where the wings were coming from, but he certainly wasn’t holding a take-out container. My guess was that he had them stashed in a grocery bag he was carrying, and they kept coming out one or another over the next 15 minutes or so. A short while later, the eating stopped and his wife arrived … with a giant container of chicken wings in her hands. I wasn’t invited to their feast, for the record.

When the gates opened a short while later, I took this quick shot of my boxed statue …

pnc-park-bill-mazeroski-figure

… before making a beeline for the seats in right-center so I could watch a few minutes of batting practice with this perfect view:

pnc-park-pano-batting-practice

Next, I visited the Chevrolet kiosk where I filled out a questionnaire in order to receive this bag, which I’ll probably give away over the off-season in some sort of contest:

pnc-park-pirates-chevrolet-bag

It took a while to get the bag, given the crazy crowds at PNC Park. With the Pirates doing so well, it seemed like half the city of Pittsburgh was in attendance. While the Riverwalk wasn’t hugely crowed, this is what the main concourse looked like:

pnc-park-concourse-crowd

Yikes.

I s-l-o-w-l-y made my way through the crowd until I made it over to the rotunda in left field, where I climbed to the top and shot this panorama:

pnc-park-pano-rotunda

By this time, the pre-game festivities were starting and they were special. The Pirates were honoring their 1960 World Series team, which meant that Mazeroski and several of his teammates were in attendance. Although I was far from home plate, I could comfortably see the baseball legends gathered on the field …

pnc-park-pirates-1960-world-series-team

… and due to my location on the rotunda, I also had a great view of the video board, which loomed next to me on my left. After first pitch, I watched a little bit of the game from the rapidly filling rotunda before heading back to the Riverwalk in search of something to eat. First, I snapped this panorama of the downtown Pittsburgh skyline:

pnc-park-pano-river-and-city-view

If you’re not familiar with PNC Park, perhaps its biggest appeal is the magnificent view of the city it provides. Whenever you walk on the side of the park closest to the river, you’ll always see fans standing and shooting photos of the view. It’s definitely an awesome feature.

I wanted to find something to eat along the Riverwalk area, simply because it wasn’t as crowded and I figured I might be able to find a bench to sit down while I ate. My choice was a plate of Riverwalk fries, which is a serving of fries topped with cheese sauce, bacon bits, chives and sour cream:

pnc-park-riverwalk-fries

Although I’m not a fan of the fake stadium cheese, the meal was tasty. The fries were actually really good, which sort of surprised me. The toppings were substantial and, overall, the meal was definitely filling. If you’re a fry lover, I definitely recommend checking this out during your next visit to PNC Park.

By the time I’d finished eating, the sun was starting to set. That’s one thing about ballgames in late August — you don’t have a lot of time to take photos with the daylight. I spent an inning or two watching the action, and then returned to the Riverwalk to hang out. I was amused to notice that even though I couldn’t see the game from where I was standing, it was a blast to just hang out on the Riverwalk and watch the boats, skyline and anything else that caught my eye, while also following the game on the nearby TV screens — and I certainly wasn’t the only person taking this approach. Still, as a baseball fan, I could only stay away from the on-field action for so long, and soon found myself standing in the viewing area above the scoreboard in right field. The front part of this section is reserved for fans in wheelchairs, but others tend to grab a standing spot against the wall and can enjoy a great view of the action. Here was my view:

pnc-park-scoreboard-view

Once I’d enjoyed this area for a bit, want to guess where I went? If you picked the Riverwalk, you win! I often find that it’s a challenge to take decent nighttime photographs, so I wanted to use the perfect view to fiddle with my camera’s settings and find something that would work. I’ll spare you all the super-dark and washed-out images that I went through until I was able to get shots like this one:

pnc-park-clemente-bridge-night

By the way, the Riverwalk area I keep talking about? Well, it looked like this during my visit:

pnc-park-riverwalk-night

Despite the appeal of this cool area, I climbed up to the upper deck where I had a great view of the game. I sort of snuck toward the edge of the seating area to take a series of photos but was quickly spotted by an usher. I prepared to be told to scram, but instead I was pleasantly surprised with how he addressed me: “Spend all the time you want,” he said. “In fact, why don’t you stand in my spot?” He pointed to the little alcove on the end of the section that he’d previously been occupying and I thanked him profusely. Since I run into crabby ushers more than I’d like, I was thrilled with how friendly this guy was. I explained that I’d come a long way to visit PNC Park and that I appreciated him letting me shoot from this angle. “Don’t mention it,” he said. “This is your park.”

This outstanding vantage point allowed me to shoot a bunch of photos, including my beloved Riverwalk from above:

pnc-park-riverwalk-night-above

A panorama of the park from way up high:

pnc-park-pano-upper-deck

And the crowded rotunda, where I’d stood earlier:

pnc-park-rotunda-night

I spent the remainder of the game basically repeating the pattern I’d enjoyed since the start of my visit — some time on the rotunda, some time on the Riverwalk and some time spent simply wandering around and enjoying the sights.

When the game wrapped up, I was excited to get back to my hotel, the Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown. As I said earlier, I stayed at this hotel when I visited Pittsburgh last season, and it was so perfect that I was definitely excited to visit again. Since I stayed for two nights this time, I’ll be sharing some details about the hotel in this post and my next post, but let’s start with the location. The hotel is one mile from PNC Park, which is a perfect walking distance before and after the game — and I can assure you that I was comfortably back in my hotel room before many fans were on the road heading home. The hotel also doesn’t charge for parking, which is extremely rare among downtown hotels and a huge perk if you’re looking for ideal accommodations close to PNC Park.

Here’s a shot of the hotel taken earlier in the day while it was still bright out:

hampton-inn-suites-pittsburgh-downtown-outside

And here’s a shot of my room, which had a sofa and an ottoman, desk, king-sized bed and a bunch of other great features:

hampton-inn-suites-pittsburgh-downtown-room

Need more reasons to pick this hotel for your next baseball trip? It’s one of the top Pittsburgh hotels on TripAdvisor, has a great fitness center and indoor pool (which I enjoyed the following day of my visit), free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast and more. One of the other intangibles is the great view. I could see PNC Park out my window and also had a perfect vantage point of the city’s downtown skyline. I used my GoPro the following night to shoot this time-lapse video of night falling over the city:

My day in Pittsburgh seemed to go very quickly, but the good news is that I’d get to enjoy another day seeing the Pirates in action, exploring the city on foot and hanging out in my hotel. I’ll have that blog post up soon!

2 comments

  1. Paul Ganas

    PNC has been number 1 on my ballpark list for several years now. Thanks for the insight! My visit next year (fingers crossed) will be enhanced after reading this great post!

Leave a Reply

