Ten Days in Texas!

Question: What has 261,797 square miles, 27,469,114 residents and me?

Answer: The state of Texas between May 12 and 22!

That’s right — I’m heading to Texas again!

globe-life-park-malcolm-sign

I had an outstanding visit to the Lone Star State last September, taking in a Texas Rangers game and a pair of Houston Astros games, and from the minute I arrived back home, I was anxious to return. I didn’t know when I’d be able to get back to the state, but I’m pleased to announce that I’m heading there very soon. This time, I’ll be spending two days in five of the six cities that host a minor league team, and I’m absolutely stoked to get this trip underway.

I’ll be up bright and early (like, at the airport at 3 a.m. early) on May 12 to fly to Chicago, and then to Austin, where I’ll make the short drive to Round Rock and the adventure will officially be underway. Here’s what my schedule of games looks like:

Thursday, May 12: Oklahoma City Dodgers at Round Rock Express 7 p.m.

Friday, May 13: Oklahoma City Dodgers at Round Rock Express 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 14: Frisco RoughRiders at Corpus Christi Hooks 7 p.m.

Sunday, May 15: Frisco RoughRiders at Corpus Christi Hooks 2 p.m.

Monday, May 16: New Orleans Zephyrs at El Paso Chihuahuas 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 17: New Orleans Zephyrs at El Paso Chihuahuas 11 a.m.

Wednesday, May 18: Frisco RoughRiders at Midland RockHounds 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 19: Frisco RoughRiders at Midland RockHounds 7 p.m.

Friday, May 20: San Antonio Missions at Frisco RoughRiders 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 21: San Antonio Missions at Frisco RoughRiders 7 p.m.

Visiting these five ballparks means that by the time the trip concludes, I’ll have seen MLB/MiLB action in 62 different ballparks since 2010. Also, I’m getting a chance to see two leagues for the first time — El Paso and Round Rock play in the Triple-A Pacific Coast League, while the other three teams are members of the Double-A Texas League.

I’ve decided to schedule two days in each of these cities for several reasons. First, I’d hate for a rainout to ruin my chance at seeing a park if I were only in town for one day. Additionally, two days will mean that my travel schedule isn’t as crazy as I’ve sometimes had in the past, which will mean more time to blog while I’m away and, hopefully, more time to do some sightseeing, too. Please feel free to send me any tourist ideas by posting in the comments section below, tweeting me or sending me an email. Time permitting, I plan to check out things including the USS Lexington floating museum in Corpus Christi, Sun Bowl Stadium in El Paso and a handful of other things elsewhere.

I’m also excited to say that with the exception of flying to and from Texas and catching a flight from Corpus Christi to El Paso, I’ll be renting a car and driving. This means that I’ll have the chance to tour the cities a bit and see the sights, which will be awesome.

In addition to blogging, I’ll be tweeting about my adventures along the way, as well as shooting video with my GoPro to share on my YouTube channel. I did a bit of GoPro stuff last season (mostly time-lapse videos) but wasn’t pleased with my videos and didn’t post them. I’ve made some adjustments by buying some additional gear and I know I’ll now be able to put together some cool videos that will provide you with a cool fan experience for each of the parks I visit, so please think about subscribing to my YouTube channel and watching for those upcoming videos.

I also want to take a moment to thank those who have supported my trips in various ways, whether it’s sending money by PayPal or shopping through my Amazon affiliate program. As you can imagine, there are considerable costs to traveling, and this trip is arguably my most ambitious yet. That said, I’d really appreciate your continued support. If you get a kick out of reading my blog and want to help keep my adventures coming, I’d kindly ask you to visit this page on my website. It details how you can support my travels by shopping on Amazon, which might be something you’re already doing. All it takes is a quick click each time you shop and doing so doesn’t cost you a penny more. Plus, if you buy something and get in touch to let me know, I’ll send you a public or a private thank you!

I’ll update this blog post if any of the travel plans change, but in the meantime you can follow me on Twitter to read the latest updates and follow along on my adventure.

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

