Corpus Christi Hooks – May 15

On my second day in Corpus Christi, the Hooks were scheduled to host the Frisco RoughRiders in a 2 p.m. game. Shortly after I woke up, the view out the window of my downtown hotel looked like this:

corpus-christi-hotel-view

 

While I was thrilled with the picturesque view of the Gulf of Mexico, I also couldn’t help but notice some semi-dark skies in the distance. Plus, the wind was howling like crazy, and I’d already heard that the weather in Corpus Christi can change quickly because of the city’s proximity to the Gulf. Things weren’t exactly looking promising for that afternoon’s game.

I worked on my blog for a bit and short while later, I heard the rain begin. It’s never a good sign when you can hear the rain loudly from inside a hotel room when the A/C is blasting, and when I walked over to my balcony to look outside, the term “monsoon” might have been appropriate. To give you an idea of how hard it was raining, I went downstairs, huddled in the entrance of the hotel and shot this short video:

Perfect baseball weather, right?

It was pretty clear that there was no way the Hooks would be playing, but the team declared on social media that the game was still set for a 2 p.m. (or slightly thereafter) start. I’d sort of wished things would’ve just been cancelled right away to avoid the procedure of going to the stadium, standing there for an hour or two and then turning around and going back to my hotel, but I figured I’d head over to Whataburger Field shortly before the gates opened to snap some photos of the rainy scene — so that’s exactly what I did.

Here’s what the field looked like upon my arrival:

whataburger-field-tarp

Still a great view with the bridge in the background, but I would’ve rather seen a clear field and players taking batting practice.

It was still raining quite hard, so I tried to stay in covered areas as I walked around the virtually empty stadium. I went back up to the group party deck down the first base line to check out the view of the Harbor Bridge in the rain …

whataburger-field-bridge-rain

… and wandered around the extremely quiet suite level for a bit:

whataburger-field-suite-level

Occasionally, I’d head back to the main concourse, grab a seat that was relatively dry and just hang out while enjoying the scenery. Despite the downpour, I was really digging the view at Whataburger Field:

whataburger-field-rain-view

There was still no official announcement about the game, but the gates soon opened and a pretty decent crowd (all things considered) filed in. I milled around the concourse for a while longer, and then went down beneath the ballpark to walk through the tunnel outside the clubhouses and look out at the field. It was even wet down there:

whataburger-field-tunnel

As “game time” approached, I figured it’d only be a matter of time before the game was called on account of the weather, so I decided to make the most of my visit and hit the Whataburger concession stand for some lunch. A Twitter friend of mine, Steven Ericson, had strongly advised me to eat a Whataburger, so I ordered a double meat burger with cheese, lettuce, onions, jalapeno peppers and mustard, along with a side of onion rings. I was unimpressed with the onion rings and found that they lacked flavor. The burger, however, was delicious — and probably the best “fast food”-style burger I’ve ever had:

whataburger-field-burger

The above photo doesn’t do justice to the size of the burger, but it was enormous — and definitely filling.

About the time I finished eating, the game was indeed cancelled, so I took a walk around the park for the last time, stopping to take this panorama of the stands and infield area …

whataburger-field-pano-tarp

… and then drove back to my hotel.

The rain continued throughout the afternoon, which was unfortunate because I’d really wanted to get outside and explore the area along the coast a bit. Fortunately, the sky cleared up a bit around 7 p.m. and I got to go for a walk.

There was a giant marina roughly across the street from my hotel, so I walked around it for a bit …

IMG_0085

… and particularly enjoyed looking at the numerous shrimp boats:

IMG_0090

I wish the weather had been better throughout the afternoon, because the entire area around my hotel seemed perfect for walking. Check out this awesome view:

IMG_0086

One interesting feature in the area was the memorial to the late Spanish-American singer Selena, who was murdered in Corpus Christi in 1995. Even though the rainy weather meant that the streets were mostly deserted, there was a steady flow of people stopping at the memorial during the entire time that I was walking around the area. I managed to snap a couple photos, including this one, between groups of fans:

IMG_0089

I grabbed a sub on the way back to my hotel and ate it while I watched the first half of the Sunday Night Baseball broadcast. By this time, the rain had begun again and it was pouring like crazy. I took this last shot out my hotel window …

IMG_0096

… and then set my alarm for 3:30 a.m. so that I could catch a flight to El Paso a few hours later.

Leave a Reply

